## HISTORY OF ANDHRA PRADESH – AN OVERVIEW

K. S. KAMESWARA RAO

## **EMESCO**

## **Contents**

1.	The Beginnings	13
2.	Pre-and Proto-historic Age :	
	At the Threshold of the Early Historic Period	25
3.	The Early Historic Age 31	
4.	Post-Satavahana Age : The Vishnukundins	44
5.	The Early Medieval Age (A.D 624-1000) : Chalukyas of Vengi	58
6.	The Medieval Age (A.D 1000 – A.D 1324) : The Kakatiyas	67
<i>7</i> .	Later Medieval Age (AD 1336 – AD 1660) : The Vijayanagara Kingdom	90
8.	The Early Modern Andhra : The Beginning of Colonial Andhra	110
9.	Modern Age : Imperialism vs Nationalist Aspirations in Andhra Region – AD 1858–1956	123
10.	Contemporary Andhra Pradesh : Stress and Strife and Bifurcation 1956 to 2014	149
Anı	nexures:	
1.	Gentlemen's Agreement, 20th Feb. 1956.	165
2.	Six Point Formula, 22nd Sept. 1973.	168

## 1. The Beginnings

The present-day Andhra Pradesh, with 13 districts comprising Coastal Andhra, Rayalaseema and North Andhra, was created by an Act of Parliament in 2014. It is bordered by Telangana in the North West, Chhattisgarh in the North, Tamilnadu in the South, and Karnataka in the South-West. The State is bordered by the Bay of Bengal in the East. The State of Andhra Pradesh has a unique location value as a Sub-region of the Deccan. The State lies between 12°41' and 19°07' Latitude and 77° and 84°40' Longitude. Yanam District of Pondicherry is located in the Godavari Delta and it is to the North-East of the State. It is a part of the Eastern Deccan plateau and forms a considerable part of the Eastern Ghats. It is also included in the State. It has a coastline of 974 kilometers and it is the second largest coast-line in India. The total area of this land is 1,60,204 Square Kilometers.

Broadly, this State is divided into three regions: namely Coastal Andhra, Rayalaseema and Northern Andhra. It has 13 districts – Ananthapuram, Chittur, Kadapa, Kurnool, East Godavari, Guntur, Krishna, Sri Potti Sreeramulu Nellore District, Prakasham, West Godavari, Srikakulam, Visakhapatnam and Vijayanagaram. Of these districts, the largest is Ananthapuram and the smallest is Srikakulam. Of these, the most populous district is East Godavari and least populous is Vijayanagaram.

Andhra Pradesh is popularly called the state of rivers as it was watered by many rivers, rivulets, streams and streamlets. In this state, the biggest rivers like Godavari and Krishna, Pennar and Tungabhadra flow. Godavari is appropriately called the river of Dakshinapatha. It has been called the Sapta Godavari but today three branches Bharadwaja, Viswamitra and Jamadagni are no longer visible. Interesting features of Godavari are its numerous